Emma! A Pop Musical 2024 Playbill

Emma, a senior at Highbury Prep, is certain she knows what’s best for her classmates’ love lives, and is determined to find the perfect boyfriend for shy sophomore Harriet by the end of the school year. But will Emma’s relentless matchmaking get in the way of finding her own happiness? Based on Jane Austen’s classic novel, this sparkling new musical features the hit songs of legendary girl groups and iconic female singers from The Supremes to Katy Perry. Girl power has never sounded so good!

Performances at Sherwood High School auditorium, April 12-13, 18-20 at 7pm. Tickets online and at the door.

Musical Numbers


Act 1:

“Chapel of Love” – Emma, Mr. Weston, Miss Taylor, Ensemble
“Man, I Feel Like A Woman” – Emma, Harriet, Female Ensemble
“Be My Baby – Part 1” – Harriet, Female Ensemble
“How Will I Know?” – Harriet, Emma, Female Ensemble
“Be My Baby – Part 2” – Harriet, Female Ensemble
“King of Anything” – Emma, Jeff, Ensemble
“Girls Just Want To Have Fun” – Jane, Harriet, Emma, Female Ensemble
“You Can’t Hurry Love” – Welcoming Committee Singers, Emma
“Things I’ll Never Say” – Jeff, Ensemble
“Heartbreaker” – Frankie, Emma, Harriet, Jane, Jeff, Martin, Ensemble

Act 2:

“Whatta Man/You Gotta Be” – Three Girls, Miss Bates, Female Ensemble
“Straight Up” – Emma, Frankie, Ensemble
“Bad, Bad Crush” – Harriet, Jane
“Roar” – Emma, Jeff, Ashley, Philip
“Stay” – Emma, Frankie, Jeff
“Turn The Beat Around/I Wanna Dance With Somebody” – Ashley, Welcoming Committee, Harriet, Emma, Ensemble
“Be My Baby – Part 3” – Harriet, Ensemble
“Brave” – Harriet, Jane, Frankie, Emma, Jeff, Ensemble
“Be My Baby – Part 4” – Harriet, Jane, Emma, Frankie, Jeff, Female Ensemble
“Unwritten” – Emma, Jeff, Harriet, Jane, Frankie, Martin, Ensemble
“Heartbreaker – Reprise” – Frankie, Ensemble

Cast List

Emma Woodhouse – Delaney Hagfeldt

Harriet Smith – Maija Casey

Jane Fairfax – Sophie Fletcher

Ashley – Adalia Henderson

Welcoming Committee – Ellise Newton

Welcoming Committee – Tala Dababneh

Welcoming Committee – Samantha Demcak

Welcoming Committee – Kiara Valladares

Jeff Knightley – Finley Boyer

Martin – Grant Aanderud

Frankie Churchill – Nic Michal

Philip Eaton – Leo Grosso

Miss Bates – Zoe Gillice

Mr. Weston – Nathan Sax

Miss Taylor – Jadyn Cochran

Dance Team – Charlotte Swartout (Captain), Jenessa Rose, EJ Turner, Gabby Tegtmeyer, Clara Mellinger, Kylie DeBusman, Lorelei Hein, Macy NewMeyer, Madison Needham

Ensemble- Morgan Matlock, Levi Dorsey, Sam Russell, Charlie Page, Lillian Renard, Claire Newton, Jack Fairman, Abigail Bishop, Lilly Hildreth, Ava Moallem, Kaitlin Kulland, Jackson Porter, Dani Kirby, Mikayla Weidman, Izzy Garland, Kyle Mershon, Ellie Pannell, Marcus Estrada

Understudies – Kiara Valladares (Welcoming Committee Swing), Sadie Short (Emma), Tala Debabneh (Harriet), Nic Michal (Jeff, Philip), Samantha Demcak (Jane), Ryan Harman (Martin, Mr. Weston), Ellise Newton (Ashley), Mia Altamirano (Miss Bates), Megan Ramos (Miss Taylor)


Orchestra Conductor – Mason Hartman

Keyboard – Hannah Eulberg+

Alto Sax – Tristan Weitkamp+

Tenor Sax- Connor Vandever

Trumpet – Andy Rackliffe*

Trombone – Bridger Schaffer

Guitar 1 – Sean Garland+

Guitar 2 – Ashton Cochrun

Bass – Seth McLellan

Drums – Justin Radford+

*SHS Senior                     +Adult Mentor Musician

Production Team

Director – Joe Dalton

Choreographer – Tara Porter

Music Director – Kathy Shuckerow

Assistant Director – Shannon Miller

Technical Director – Kristen Hartman

Stage Manager – Claire Baldridge

Assistant Stage Manager – Mae Svenson

Tech Crew – Alice Giles, Amarys Martinez, Angelica Lopez, August Hartman, Brady Gengler, Caelum Wallace, Ember Duncantell, Gaby Rojas, Grace Hoffman, Isabella McNeil, Kayleigh Olson, Lauren Branine, Matthew Wiren, Peyton Rouse 

Art Design – Allie Edinger

House Manager, Booster President: Ambria Newton

Box Office: Lisa Swartout

Costuming Team – Michelle Crosby & Kim Fletcher

Glam Team – Pamela Whitchurch & Rana Kaddumi

Set Design – Kristen Hartman

Set Construction – Robert Eli Taylor with Mason Hartman, Madison Taylor and Kristen Hartman

Painting and Prop assembly – Alice Giles, Claire Baldridge, El Strausbaugh, Grace Hoffman, Jack Fairman, Gaby Rojas

Photography: Jeff Peters, Giffy Pix & Flix

Videography: Corbin Anderson

Special thanks to the Performing Arts Boosters and Families! To the Sitton family for their button maker. To the Pirates of Pinehurst for giving our kids the opportunity for real world experience, and for their generous support of the program. To Connie for organizing the schedule and Gwen for promoting the shows. To Jeff Peters for the photography and the amazing commemorative posters! To the band program for these amazing musicians who can join us tonight, to the choir program for providing the voices, and to both programs for our ongoing cooperation down the forest wing!

And thank you to Adam Mitchell, Katie Voss, and SHS Administration and district office! We appreciate you!